Disc Brakes or V-brakes?

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by 4900Rockpock, Aug 26, 2003.

1. 4900Rockpock

4900Rockpock New Member

Hey, first time posting here. I'll get down to business. My dad says that I should get disc brakes on my next bike, but I don't know if I want to spend the extra money when v-brakes seem fine. Can anyone tell me the advantages of disc brakes from v-brakes?

Tags:

2. mfallon

mfallon New Member

I'm not an expert but disk brakes will give you more stopping power and are less effected by elements making them more consistent. They also don't wear your rims. You also have to consider hydraulic or manual disk brakes. Hydraulic will have more stopping power and give you more control over the braking. They are of course much more expensive and you have to deal with the hydraulics. You also have to be sure your wheels, fork and frame support disk brakes. I don't know if there are ways to adapt older frames or not since like I said I'm not an expert but there are plenty of guys on this forum that are that can probably give you much better info.

Matt

3. JohnO

JohnO New Member

From my experience, discs withstand mud and heat better than v-brakes. V-brakes can work when muddy, but you cringe from the grinding sound as you visualize your fancy rims being ground up. Also, discs dissipate heat better during long braking sessions, if you have very long downhills.

On the downside, discs require a stronger (read: heavier) wheel. Because braking forces on a disc come through the spokes and hub, instead of stopping at the rim like v-brakes do, the hub and spokes need to be a bit heavier.

Hydraulic brakes can be a bit of a fuss to set up, but seem to be trouble free once installed. Braking power? You can throw yourself over the handlebars with v-brakes, so more braking power isn't really useable.

4. drewjc

drewjc New Member

2 advantages i have thought of that may not apply to everyone for disc brakes.