Ditchling Beacon

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Andy B

The london to brighton cycle ride takes in Ditchling Beacon. I've never done this ride before but
years ago i was down at Ditchling Beacon watching a classic race. All i remember is that it's a
right steep hill. Can someone give me an insight to tackling it? I'm now trying to get in as much
hill practice as I can beforehand.

Andy

Andy B wrote:

> The london to brighton cycle ride takes in Ditchling Beacon. I've never done this ride before but
> years ago i was down at Ditchling Beacon watching a classic race. All i remember is that it's a
> right steep hill. Can someone give me an insight to tackling it? I'm now trying to get in as much
> hill practice as I can beforehand.

Don't be overawed by its undeserved reputation and just ride up within yourself. If that means
walking do so. The biggest problem will be other riders either walking up or weaving all over the
road, which may force you to stop and/or walk anyway.

I wouldn't bother with specific "hill practice" for Ditchling, but some slow bike manoevering skills
and rapid unclipping (if you use clips or spds) will certainly come in handy.

Enjoy the ride.

John B

John B <[email protected]> wrote in message news:<[email protected]>...
> Andy B wrote:
>
> > The london to brighton cycle ride takes in Ditchling Beacon. I've never done this ride before
> > but years ago i was down at Ditchling Beacon watching a classic race. All i remember is that
> > it's a right steep hill. Can someone give me an insight to tackling it? I'm now trying to get in
> > as much hill practice as I can beforehand.
>
> Don't be overawed by its undeserved reputation and just ride up within yourself. If that means
> walking do so. The biggest problem will be other riders either walking up or weaving all over the
> road, which may force you to stop and/or walk anyway.
>
> I wouldn't bother with specific "hill practice" for Ditchling, but some slow bike manoevering