Do I need a new cog set?

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Allan

I'm new to mountain biking and I'm okay at it except for steep climbs. Aside from developing the
proper cadence and optimum climbing body position with practice, I can't help but think that a 32 or
34 tooth rear cog would help over my 28 tooth granny gear. I find myself straining to keep the
cranks spinning steadily (my guess is in the 60 to 70 rpm range depending on the hill) and then I
bail or blow up. Will getting a larger cog help or should I keep my old 28 and concentrate on the
developing the legs, skills, and fitness?

-----= Posted via Newsfeeds.Com, Uncensored Usenet News =----- http://www.newsfeeds.com - The #1
Newsgroup Service in the World! -----== Over 100,000 Newsgroups - 19 Different Servers! =-----

Allan at [email protected] wrote on 8/24/03 8:48 PM:

> I'm new to mountain biking and I'm okay at it except for steep climbs. Aside from developing the
> proper cadence and optimum climbing body position with practice, I can't help but think that a 32
> or 34 tooth rear cog would help over my 28 tooth granny gear.

(Just to confirm, you _don't_ mean that your smallest front chainring is a 28, do you? )

> I find myself straining to keep the cranks spinning steadily (my guess is in the 60 to 70 rpm
> range depending on the hill) and then I bail or blow up. Will getting a larger cog help or should
> I keep my old 28 and concentrate on the developing the legs, skills, and fitness?

You don't say what your actual gearing is up front, but a 28 tooth rear cog seems to be an
unnecessary impediment to your enjoyment.

If you run a 12-32 or 12-34, the worst thing that happens is that you don't use your small chainring
up front too often. Go for it.

Your knees will thank you, too.

-- Jim

"Jim Edgar" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:BB6FFA9E.4EF38%[email protected]...
> Allan at [email protected] wrote on 8/24/03 8:48 PM:
>