Do I really need Fancy Pedals and Shoes?

eynlai

Nov 10, 2010
Ok, I'm a complete Newbie... So please don't hate me to much for asking the question in the Title.

I've been doing a bit of paved bike trail riding in Southern California area over the last 2 years on my Specialized Sirrus (hybrid). Anywhere from 25 miles to 75 miles per ride. I like the distance so I can "Zen" out, not really a need for speed. I been just riding in my sweats and tennis / running shoes.

Yesterday, I finally picked up a 2010 Specialized Tarmac Comp Double Rival (road bike) at a pretty good deal of $1700 new. I'm pretty sure I'll need some riding shorts or undergarment because the saddle on the Tarmac is virtually not there compared to my old trusty Sirrus... But do I really need the fancy pedal and shoes? Or should I? And why? And I'm looking at keeping it under $190 for shoes and pedal.

Advice?

thanks.

Having clipless pedals will improve your efficiency while biking by allowing you to pull during your pedal stroke. Also reduces rotational mass weight(compared to having toe clips) which further increases efficiency.

Also, on your new road bike your gearing isn't as forgiving and easy as your hybrid so pedaling may be a bit harder and clipless pedals+shoes could help there as well.

When you first get them practice clipping in and out in your driveway so you don't have any embarrassing moments while out on a ride, gives you a chance to fine tune the tension on the pedals as well.

I'm sure you can find a decent pair of used shoes, there's always riders upgrading and looking to find a new home for their entry level shoes.

If you want to get the best out of your bike the answer is yes and yes!