Do not lift weight when you are racing

Corzhens

May 26, 2015
That's the advice I got from my older brothers who were horse jockeys. The weight tends to build strong muscles that is fit for strength but not for speed. I am not into racing though, this just came to my mind because someone asked me if it is all right to lift weights before riding (leisurely though). So maybe what the guy wants is to have the power to push the pedal so I guess it is all right to lift weights.

I understand that racing needs not only speed but also stamina. For those engaged in racing, what is your opinion on lifting weights?

I think it is alright if you do so moderately. It is also recommended that you train your legs so I think it is fine if you do weighted leg training. It has improved the power and stamina of my legs anyway.

I've been racing for 33 years and have done strength work, in various forms, for greater than 40 years. As the peak torque forces in cycling are actually relatively low compared to some other sports (possible exception might be standing start in the kilo), I'm not aware of anyone who is "strength limited" in their cycling. You can look at the peak torque in a ride file from a power meter to see your own values.

Having said that, I believe there are other, non-cycling, reasons to perform strength work. Belovedad is on the right track with implying that, if cycling is your priority, you should structure your strength so as to not interfere/impede your cycling training. For example, if you were to do some intense leg strength work on Monday, it would make doing quality intervals on Tuesday "challenging".

Reactions: Corzhens
Yes, moderately lifting shouldn't really be that much of a problem, but in terms gaining pedal power, leg exercise (some don't even require weights) should do the trick.

And there are tons of sources on the internet (e.g YouTube) that can help in pedaling easier and efficiently.