Do one-legged drills...

ric_stern/RST said:
i thoroughly recommend one legged drills... but only if you want to improve your one-legged cycling ability (or only have one leg).

ric

Edit: point 3 is the best answer, or at least the one that made me smile the most!

lol.....:)

I was thinking about this the other day. I may start doing some one legged drills as i feel i may be favouring my right leg when riding normaly. This is due the fact i broke my left ankle last year and started riding to aid my rehabilitation. I actually started riding before i could walk (without the aid of crutches) but i am now thinking i may be subconciously favouring my right leg and putting in more effort with that leg.

Think some left legged training could even things out a little :confused:

I'm no expert, but my CTS coach puts them on the schedule occasionally, and I figure he knows what he's doing. Based on other replies, this looks like a subject where different coaches have different opinions (weight lifting for cyclists is another one where equally respected coaches come up with opposite answers!).

palewin said:
I'm no expert, but my CTS coach puts them on the schedule occasionally, and I figure he knows what he's doing. Based on other replies, this looks like a subject where different coaches have different opinions (weight lifting for cyclists is another one where equally respected coaches come up with opposite answers!).

I'm reading Fred Matheny's training book now, and he also recommends them. I just tried one-legged pedaling on the trainer, and I can hold a decent cadence for no more than 10-15 seconds. Should be easy to improve with just a few minutes a week, although I have no idea if it will actually translate to smoother pedaling on the road.

If nothing else, drills like these break the boredom on winter trainer sessions!

dhk said: