Don't hold your breath.

Toofastnogood

Dec 14, 2005
Would training my body to be able to do without breathing for over four minutes have any benefit on cycling if used in conjunction with training(obviusly)
My reasoning is that if I hold my breath for 4 minutes 5 times a day my body will become more efficient at using oxygen.
I'm no doctor and would certainly not mind being told my suggestion is completely idiotic, but using my own logic it makes sense.Free divers have some of the lowest resting heart rates in the world

So will i be better if I train as I usually do but add in my breath holding idea.Regardless off potential brain damage.

Toofastnogood said:
Would training my body to be able to do without breathing for over four minutes have any benefit on cycling if used in conjunction with training(obviusly)
My reasoning is that if I hold my breath for 4 minutes 5 times a day my body will become more efficient at using oxygen.
I'm no doctor and would certainly not mind being told my suggestion is completely idiotic, but using my own logic it makes sense.Free divers have some of the lowest resting heart rates in the world

So will i be better if I train as I usually do but add in my breath holding idea.Regardless off potential brain damage.
Can't see how holding your breath would do a thing. You need to train and increase your ability to intake and process maximum O2 to the leg muscles, not the ability of your brain to stay conscious at minimum oxygen levels.

Toofastnogood said:
Free divers have some of the lowest resting heart rates in the world.
Are they also great cyclists, or are the two mostly unrelated? ;)

Toofastnogood said:

There's some peer reviewed research to support inspiratory muscle training using a handheld device shown here: http://www.gaiam.com/retail/product.asp?product_id=95-1006%20MSTR

takes about 5 minutes twice per day and if nothing else has helped me to slow down my respiration rate during hard efforts

JS

Toofastnogood said: