Doping test reliability

Discussion in 'Doping in Cycling' started by jza86058, Jul 26, 2007.

1. jza86058

jza86058 New Member

I run medical drug trials for a living. We test patients for illegal meds before enrolling them on studies and we monitor the test medicine at regular intervals during the trial. These studies represent massive investments for pharmaceutical companies and you can be sure we use the very best labs. Even so, many mistakes are made including mixed up samples, errors in dilutions, errors with reference standards and sample storage. Many of these types of human error can be accounted for with cycling doping tests by the secondary analysis of the B sample, but what about the validity of the assays themselves?

Can somebody direct me to information about how the tests for homologous / heterologous transfusions are performed, and how these tests have been validated. I saw something about examination of the shape of red blood cells, which seems suspect to me. I would have thought the most reliable way would be a genotyping (DNA) test.

I hear the need to come down hard on doping but if the penalties are going to be as severe as some wish for (life time ban), there is a need to ensure the validity of the laboratory based tests. Some of the big name pro’s will be tested several hundred times in their career. A false +ve rate of 0.1% would be considered pretty good for many clinical lab test (other than DNA based analyses). Given that each blood / urine sample has to be tested for multiple potential doping products, this sort of error rate could end up with half a dozen clean riders receiving life time bans per year in the pro tour.

Tags:

2. Doctor.House

Doctor.House New Member

These are moot points. No commercial TV sport executive will underwrite any event with meaninful drug testing controls. NOT EVER.

The TV Networks and their consumers---demand steroid-based action. From WWE to NFL to NBA to MLB to FIFA, to NHL to Olympics to TDF.