Double vs. Triple cranks

Frankie Dirtbag

Jun 27, 2006
im new to cycling and wanted to know what the pros and cons are of having a double/triple crank. are doubles meant for sprints and triples for climbs? thanks.

Frankie Dirtbag said:
im new to cycling and wanted to know what the pros and cons are of having a double/triple crank. are doubles meant for sprints and triples for climbs? thanks.
Double cranks look raceier, triple cranks make a wider range of gears available. Any weight difference is tiny and, when properly set up, there is no shift performance difference.

Retro Grouch said:
Double cranks look raceier, triple cranks make a wider range of gears available. Any weight difference is tiny and, when properly set up, there is no shift performance difference.
hmmm - must disagree. Triples are great if you are riding casually or touring, but from experience I can say they are a liability in a race situation. The shifting is slower - not by a huge amount, but by enough that it can open a gap on a climb if you are fussing with the shifters to get from the small ring to the middle one. The weight difference can be up to about 1lb, which is fairly significant. I've also found that if I drop the chain with my double I can flick it back on very easily - with the old triple I usually had to get off and put it back on.

Compromise. Get a compact double crankset. You'll get triple-like gearing that is more suitable for us mortals. Most of us are not pros, so why try to use the same gears they do? You'll get most of the advantages of a standard double - less weight, the proper look, good chainline, ease of recovering from a chain-drop like Eden mentioned. There's no shame in it. I run a compact. A VERY strong riding partner (former pro, recent Giro d'Italia and Tour de France veteran) also uses a compact. Neither of us are likely to go back to a standard double anytime soon.

Eden said:
The weight difference can be up to about 1lb, which is fairly significant.