Dual Shifting?

vegan biker

Aug 31, 2011
Hi. Couldn't find what I was after with the search function, but I'm kind of new to all this and may have missed it. I'm wondering if it is possible to build up a road bike that is able to shift both from the aero bars as well as from the hoods / drops. Kind of a dual set up. I'm not going to dedicate the bike to strictly road or tri so I figure I'll be in and out of the aeros a lot. It would be nice to be able to shift from either position. Is this possible?

Many thanks in advance.

I have no issues shifting from the hoods and the drops with Shimano Tiagra and 105 shifters, Not sure what you are looking for but you should be able to achieve shifting from both positions using any brifters.

I have never seen a shifting system that could be set up for dual shifting locations. I believe that you are either going to have to pick one or devise a shifting mechanism yourself. I know that there are dual location brakes but that is just a pull and release type action that does not have to deal with indexing and is not as nearly dependent upon cable tension as shifting is.

Davereo - Thanks for the input. I currently ride a Cannondale CAAD8 and can easily shift as well as break from both the hoods and drops. What I was wondering is that when I build up my new bike, I'm also going to have aero bars. I would like to have 2 sets of shifters - one set on the end of the aero bars, and one set on the hoods. Two sets of cables that index the same deraileurs. That way if I'm in the aero position, I don't have to come out to shift, but if I'm on the hoods, I don't have to lean into the aeros to shift.