Energy drinks for everyday use?

SerpicoUK

Apr 8, 2007
Hi all,

Quick question for you. I cycle 2 x 20Km Mon-Fri (commute) and then usually a 50-60Km ride on Sunday. I've cycled this distance for a couple of years. I try and take the commute rides seriously. I do interval work on alternate days with recovery rides in between. But even with the recovery rides I still notice that as the week progresses my legs feel progressively 'empty'.
(I don't drive so taking additional days off is not on the cards.)

I was thinking about try some energy/recovery drinks (probably test out the SiS range with one of the introduction packs).

I've never used them before, are they for everyday use? Any advice concerning their use?

Thanks in advance.

SerpicoUK said:
I was thinking about try some energy/recovery drinks (probably test out the SiS range with one of the introduction packs).
The basic idea behind most energy/recovery drinks is replacing lost carbs and supplementing protein.

Flavoured milk meets those reuirements, and will effectively do the same thing. I know a few riders who swear by chocolate milk as a post-big-ride recovery drink. Its a whole lot cheaper than the formulated stuff as well.

Having said that, if you're otherwise healthy, there's no harm in trying the big dollar stuff if you have the cash and are willing to give it a go.

n

nerdag said:
. I know a few riders who swear by chocolate milk as a post-big-ride recovery drink. Its a whole lot cheaper than the formulated stuff as well.
Yes, I will swear by chocolate milk, too. It's $3.99 a gallon. Problem is, it tastes a lot better than anything esle, so I end up buying a lot of it. :D

SerpicoUK said:
Hi all,