Energy refueling during training

lauro

Jul 26, 2011
Hello

Hope my topic fits in the "Power Training" Forum.

I've got a question which might be answered pretty easily. I'm new to training with a power meter and I've already bought the book "Training and racing with a powermeter" (I'm not trough yet) but I haven't found an answer so far.
One advantage of a PM is, that it shows you the work in kJ you produced during the training. This is pretty nice, however, I don't know how to use this information for training. Should I refuel all the energy during an exercise? I don't think so. But how much should I eat/drink in comparison to the wasted energy. Is there a rule, tip? Something like: try refueling half of the energy during cycling, half of it at home. I think it depends on the exercises you're doing, too (lets say Endurance 2 rides vs. Level 4 intervals). Right?
I Appreciate everything whether its a link or an answer.

thanks and greets

Personal preference.

I do 3 hour rides every day - a bit faster than endurance pace. I don't eat until I get home. Sometimes I wait until my chores are done. Level 4 rides are shorter than 3 hours. No need to eat, but it is nice to have a plan in case you work too hard to get back home.

I sometimes do 6 hour rides - endurance pace for the most part. I consider eating every hour.

When I was younger 5-6 hour group rides were scheduled to stop every 2 hours. Most riders ate all they could during the 5 minute stop for filling water bottles.

---

As long as you are losing more weight than you want there is no need to eat much if any.

Originally Posted by lauro .

Hello

Hope my topic fits in the "Power Training" Forum.

I've got a question which might be answered pretty easily. I'm new to training with a power meter and I've already bought the book "Training and racing with a powermeter" (I'm not trough yet) but I haven't found an answer so far.