engineering student ideas

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by aramos2, Jun 1, 2007.

1. aramos2

aramos2 New Member

Hey guys,
    Im an engineering student and i have to come up with some kind of product that i could design (make prototype) and possibly sell.

I had an idea that i am working on. I always have a problem with seeing my maps and directions and such when i am cycling. So i am proposing a sort of map holder.
    The map holder itself would be made out of clear plexiglass with a carbon fiber or alum frame. That would be 2 layers of layers of 1/4 inch plexi to house the electronics (led bottom light (3 or 4 strips) for illumination) possibly a with a recharable plug area so that would eliminate that need for batteries. 1 layer 1/8 inch on top which will enclose that map or other documents.

For the mounting i was thinking some sort of pivitable / adjustable bracket on the top tube or maybe on the bars i need some ideas for this.

i have access to endless tools, working machine shop co-op this semester with access to water jet cutter.

If anyone would be interested in a final product let me know!! id probably make them at cost for u guys :)

Tags:

2. xxamr_corpxx

xxamr_corpxx New Member

What discipline are you? I'm doing 3rd year civil at Auckland.

If I may offer a suggestion on the marketing side, there are GPS devices which are probably occupy your niche.

3. willocrew

willocrew New Member

Sounds interesting. Although I prefer to look at a map before I ride, memorize any route changes and go before the rain comes.

4. kdelong

kdelong Well-Known Member

Sorry Aramos2 but I have to agree with xxamr_corpxx and willowcrew. I tend to look at the map and memorize the route before I leave, and if I need directions while I'm on the bike, I use my GPS unit. Therefore I can't see where I would need your product, although it would have been very useful pre-GPS.