Enthusiastic student cyclist in need of help....

Chazzz801

May 15, 2009
Hello everyone.

I am a student who is not very well off! However I am a ultra enthusiastic road cyclist who wants to take things to the next level. I am looking to gradually upgrade my bike....piece by piece, making it easier to pay for. At the moment I am riding a Giant OCR 4, which is/was a great entry level bike for the sport. The first thing I am looking to upgrade is the group set.

My bike uses a Shimano Sora group set, which I want to replace with the Shimano dura-ace 7900. I have noticed it’s possible to buy the parts separately for this group set. Is it possible to use two different group sets together on you bike, or is this completely out of the question? If it is possible, which parts should I replace first, and which parts should I leave until last?

My aim is to eventually end up with a bike I can race at a professional level. I don't like the idea of forking out thousands of pounds on an amazing bike.....it just doesn't seem justified, and that's without taking into account the cost. I also like the idea of my bike progressing in quality as I progress in fitness.

I am completely open to suggestion, and of course, if you think I am going about things the wrong way, I would be most grateful to hear your opinions.

Many thanks,

Charlie

Chazzz801 said:
Hello everyone.
I am a student who is not very well off! However I am a ultra enthusiastic road cyclist who wants to take things to the next level. I am looking to gradually upgrade my bike....piece by piece, making it easier to pay for.

Buying a bike piecemeal is absolutely the most expensive way to go about it, unless you're really skilled in bargain hunting, and have a perfect knowledge of which parts that will be compatible with your current build.

My suggestion is this:
1) ride your bike as it is, only replace parts when they absolutely break/wear out.
2) Get yourself a jar, write "new bike" on it