Entry level bike build needs help!!

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by cyclingaidan, Feb 1, 2006.

1. cyclingaidan

cyclingaidan New Member

I'm doing an entry level bike build which is quite an ambitious[font=&quot] project for me and i'm having trouble with component compatibility. I bought some campag veloce ergo shifters in haste because they were going cheap on ebay but now i'm in the process of buying wheels and all the campag compatible ones are just a little bit out of my price range. I'm a student so on a very tight budget. Does anyone know if i can convert a shimano freehub to take a campag casette? OR should i take the plunge and just buy some campag wheels. Or cut my losses with the veloce ergo shifters, sell them on ebay and go all shimano? Any help with this would be very much appreciated!
    [/font]

Tags:

2. John M

John M New Member

A shimano freehub will NOT take a Campag cassette, but you can use Campagnolo shifters with Shimano freehub wheels with some modifications.

You have a few options:
    1. Use a converter cassette such as that made by Wheels manufacturing, IRD, or American classic with shimano compatible freehub. This is a shimano cassette spaced for Campy shifters. These work fine but are expensive. $100-150 new, maybe cheaper used.
    2. Use a jtek Shiftmate. This is an adapter that fits on the rear derailleur that changes the cable pull/derailleur swing ratio to allow mixing brands of shifters and derailleurs/cassettes. These cost $35 and are available in 4 versions for a variety of shifter/derailleur/cassette combinations.