Etiquette Question

travelgirl

Jul 31, 2006
I'm fairly new to all of this and had an etiquette question. In prepping for a 2 day MS ride coming up this week-end I rode in an organized 50k charity ride a few weeks ago. We had settled in a bit and spread out and I had 3 riders that were riding somewhat staggered, but taking up the full lane - from the double yellow over to the shoulder. As we started up a hill and they slowed a bit, they continued to stay spread out, chatting away. I know we're supposed to pass on the left, but that would have taken me into the oncoming lane. Instead of "to the left" I said "coming through" and passed between them. Again, they were staggered and not riding 3 abreast. And they continued chatting and riding. This went on until the first rest stop - but I only "came through" once. What should I have done? Or should they have been riding closer together to make it easier to pass? BTW, they also never moved over when "car back" was shouted.

eh, don't expect much on charity rides while this type of behavior can be dangerous to you and others many charity riders are inexperienced. I would have sprinted around them on the left unless I was close to the crest of the hill. Just use your best judgment. Passing between can be dangerous if they are not expecting it or if they are inexperienced. Having someone come up along side you unexpectedly could cause a crash pretty easily.

djk202020 said:
eh, don't expect much on charity rides while this type of behavior can be dangerous to you and others many charity riders are inexperienced. I would have sprinted around them on the left unless I was close to the crest of the hill. Just use your best judgment. Passing between can be dangerous if they are not expecting it or if they are inexperienced. Having someone come up along side you unexpectedly could cause a crash pretty easily.