Evacuated Frame Tubes: Stronger and Lighter

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

B. Sanders

The new evacuated frame tubing is the final frontier for the gram shaver. According to the
manufacturers, it produces a stronger, yet measurably lighter frame by holding the tubing walls in
tension (like the spokes of a wheel) due to the internal vacuum. It's especially effective for
thin-walled large-diameter aluminum frame tubing. Evacuated teel tubing has the added benefit of
permanent rust prevention (no air means no oxidation).

Has anybody tried one of the early-mid-year 2004 frames built with evacuated tubing (known to
framebuilders by various brand names like "NoAir", "UltraVac" and "Evac Elite")? I'm curious to know
more about the special handling characteristics of this new frame technology.

Barry

Why not go one better and fill them with helium after evacuation and shave some more grams? :)

I'm not an engineer but the idea of the walls being in "tension" sounds fishy to me. Hopefully our
engineers will discuss that for us.

Lyle

"B. Sanders" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:104pa.563833$L1.164874@sccrnsc02...
> The new evacuated frame tubing is the final frontier for the gram shaver. According to the
> manufacturers, it produces a stronger, yet measurably lighter frame by holding the tubing walls in
> tension (like the spokes of a wheel) due to the internal vacuum. It's especially effective for
> thin-walled large-diameter aluminum frame tubing. Evacuated teel tubing
has
> the added benefit of permanent rust prevention (no air means no
oxidation).
>
> Has anybody tried one of the early-mid-year 2004 frames built with
evacuated
> tubing (known to framebuilders by various brand names like "NoAir", "UltraVac" and "Evac Elite")?
> I'm curious to know more about the special handling characteristics of this new frame technology.
>
> Barry

"res09c5t" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:[email protected]...