Evolving my 'ol rusty'...

Discussion in 'Road Cycling' started by cfgrs, Jun 17, 2012.

1. cfgrs

cfgrs New Member

Hello everyone,

So a couple of years ago I set out to train for my first triathlon, and before I ever got there flipped a bike, separated a shoulder and had a less than stellar time. So I'm back!

I've picked up a rather old Raleigh Record to get me started on the road again. It had been on a porch for two years and needed some love. I've no serious experience with bikes, really, but cleaned and tuned it up, and put ~80km on it this week just getting back into things.

I'd like to start picking up parts to upgrade it slowly, eventually swapping out the frame for something a bit more "serious". New rims are kinda at the top of my list. Basically wondering, exactly how possible is it to start collecting new parts on an old Raleigh, and eventually switch frames? I don't know how interchangable parts can be on a road bike.

Thanks!

Tags:

2. alfeng

alfeng Well-Known Member

The relevant parts will be interchangeable UNLESS you are reckless in your purchases ...

Pre-1976 Raleigh Record frames continued to use Raleigh's proprietary BB threading; and, while it is inconvenient to work with, it is not impossible.

The easiest way to tell YOUR particular frame has a Raleigh threaded BB is to determine whether it has a STEEL crankset or an ALLOY crankset.

If your Raliegh's frame has a steel crankset, then the only things which you probably want to spend money on are:

• the saddle (unless you are satisfied with the way it fits you + condition
    • the rear Freewheel + rear derailleur
    • the shifters ... Campagnolo 10-speed shifters because they can be indexed to a variety of drivetrains