Experiences with Glutamine and BCAAs?

trunks_cscs

Jul 15, 2004
I've been using 5 grams of glutamine and three BCAA capsules pre and again post ride and I've felt AWESOME! I did not take them today and that plus the mild dehydration I suffered all but killed my ride. I should also mention that I'm a type 1 diabetic. Has anybody else had similar experiences?

I have had some good experiences using glutamine as well. It does seem, however, that glutamine supplements do differ--even though the bottle of different brands may say they are the same. I have had some that seems to work very well, and other brands that do not work well at all. I usually only take it after a ride along with a sports drink or endurox.

By the way, I also have type 1 diabetes.

Jeff

Personally, I love Prolab supplements from my bodybuilding days and take mine mixed with 12-16 oz water. I drink a 15-30% instant iced tea solution during my ride as a carbohydrate supplement as it keeps my blood sugar levels WNL (within normal limits). I should also add that I'm an exercise physiologist doing my thesis on the lactate kinetics of a type 1 diabetic during high intensity cycling. I'm curious about this because my anaerobic and lactate thresholds normally fall at 130 and 176 bpm, respectively; but when my blood sugars are a little off, either slightly high or low, my threshold levels drop quiite significantly. I plan on finding out why.

I am 42yr old and 5' 10". Can you tell me what my anaerobic threshold and lactate threshold would be? I am considering the use of a Glutamine supplement, but am still checking what is available, and doing my homework on which product I should be using. I am non diabetic.