Fastest Speed for a training session

Irish Indurain

Jul 23, 2004
Well what is the fastest speed you have achieved for training/racing? Mine is a measly 69km/h, but i'm only a novice. I presume people can go much faster, supersonic maybe, but i want honest replies if possible to see how fast this sport can really be!

Irish Indurain said:
Well what is the fastest speed you have achieved for training/racing? Mine is a measly 69km/h, but i'm only a novice. I presume people can go much faster, supersonic maybe, but i want honest replies if possible to see how fast this sport can really be!
The saturday shootout rides here are fast, we do 60 miles in 2 hours 30 min and that is stopping for traffic and warming up, our speeds on the flats reach 45mph. a race i did 60 miles in 2 hour 13 min, no traffic to stop for.

Irish Indurain said:
80mph is 130kph, I only every reach that in my car nobody here would hit that on a bike.

Irish Indurain said:
i have done 70mph drafting a car down a big hill. i guess that is cheating though.

I've done 79kmph down a hill.

How do you draft behind a car downhill???
What if you hit a pothole or something. LOL only for the fearless.

Sprinter_989 said:

55mph (88kph) down a long straight local hill last weekend, my all-time max.

Sprinter_989 said:

i knew the road well, and there were no potholes. it was dead straight too.
it was more of a mini suv than a car, so there was more wind protection.
it's only a matter of spinning really fast

velomanct said:
i knew the road well, and there were no potholes. it was dead straight too.
it was more of a mini suv than a car, so there was more wind protection.
it's only a matter of spinning really fast

"it's only a matter of spinning really fast"

In a 53x12 to hit 79mph or 127kph - only 230 rpm, 212 rpm for a 53x11 !!!!!!

VeloFlash said:
"it's only a matter of spinning really fast"

In a 53x12 to hit 79mph or 127kph - only 230 rpm, 212 rpm for a 53x11 !!!!!!