Favorit Rapido

Discussion in 'Road Cycling' started by Kirk, Jun 22, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kirk

Kirk Guest

I got this bike for $40, at a garage sale, about 10 years ago. Anyone know anything about this brand
    of bike? It was made in Czechoslovakia, if that helps.

Even though I've owned the bike for a decade, I started riding it seriously only a year or so ago.
    I guess this means I'm pretty new to riding.

While I'm happy with the bike, I'm just wondering how it compares to others. I put on a new
    seat, new handlebar tape, a couple of bags, new pedals with the toe-strap thingies, and some
    other geegaws.

I get the feeling that I'm riding one old, ugly bike, one with a bunch of stuff tacked onto it.
    It's got just two gears in the front; no suspension whatsoever; and center-pull brakes, which have
    never worked very well. Outfitted with my road-touring stuff, it weighs around 28 lbs. (13kg)

Is it a pretty normal bike for road riding today, or am I riding the equivalent of one of those
    early 1900's bone-breakers?

I'm not planning on getting rid of it. I'm just curious how it compares to others.

-- Kirk

"I f*cked Harry Potter."

-- bumper stickers we all wished we'd see, but don't.

Tags:

2. S. Anderson

S. Anderson Guest

"Kirk" <[email protected]> wrote in message
    news:[email protected]...
    >
    > I got this bike for $40, at a garage sale, about 10 years ago. Anyone
    know
    > anything about this brand of bike? It was made in Czechoslovakia, if that helps.
    >
    > Even though I've owned the bike for a decade, I started riding it
    seriously
    > only a year or so ago. I guess this means I'm pretty new to riding.
    >
    > While I'm happy with the bike, I'm just wondering how it compares to others. I put on a new seat,
    > new handlebar tape, a couple of bags, new pedals with the toe-strap thingies, and some other
    > geegaws.
    >