Feeling down about this year.....

KeSs

Jul 21, 2004
Hey everyone,

I have decided to post this in here as a last ditch effort. Before I get started I will tell you about myself. I am 20 years old and I am in my 3rd year racing. I am a Cat 3 racer. I went from Cat 5 - Cat 3 last year. I have won road races before, and last year I am proud to say that I didnt place anything less than 9th for the entire season.This year, I joined up a team and started training in the spring which I didnt do last year. Last year I started training in May & this year I started training in March/Feburary.

Basically I have lost all motivation to train/race. It has been like this since the beginning of July. This year just doesnt seem as rewarding as last year and this has really messed with my head. I know that I am racing at a much more difficult level but I dunno. I have been training longer & harder this year and I havent seen any payoff. My best placing this year was 5th place. I have been dropped from the field in several races. I have noticed that I am giving up a lot easier in my races too. I dont know what the hell has happened to me. I love riding & I love racing. Nothing gets me going like watching people race bikes.

This is how this season started: Started training in the spring, however, I was on and off training for weeks at a time because I kept getting sick this spring. Finally I got the ball rolling in May and I did a few races. I realized that I wasnt in good enough form to do Cat 3 races so I went back to training and stepped it up a notch. Did some races in June and felt really good and thats when I got all my top 15 placements. Then I just started to feel drained. That followed by me getting dropped from races. I duno, its like I dont think I am good enough now or something.

Basically I am lost, I have no idea what to do about my current situation. I know that I have no overtrained because I dont have insomnia, lack of appetite, etc. Only the motivation issues.