female beginner needs some basic advice

G

Arrghhh....I know...another beginner question!   ;) I read the previous post by another beginner asking about training...to which the reponse was, "Find a coach". I don't have the money for a coach and I am not training for a race, just for myself. So, I am looking for more layman's help. LOL

Well, here-a-goes...I bought my object of affection just 6 months ago.  And, I chickened out this winter and didn't ride.  I just started riding.  I have maybe 7 rides under my belt...seriously, we are talking virgin here.  Right now, I ride about 12 miles at about 15 mph on relatively flat surfaces and I strength train about 2 to 3 times a week.

I want to train, but these training books have me lost.

Anyone know if any sites out there that outline planned training schedules for women beginners?  My long term goal is to (obviously) increase my endurance, get more miles in, get more speed, not chicken out on hills.  My short term goal is to get to a twenty mile ride soon and eventually to 50 by the end of the summer.  Any suggestions?  If it helps, I am 23 and weigh about 100 lbs and my resting heart rate has always been high at about 78 bpm.

My equipment: Trek 2000 WSD

Thanks in advance for any help.

Ah, another lady to grace our site. Well, you're in luck, 'coz you'll get all your FAQ's answered right here. Welcome to cyclingforums.com!

There are a few sites out there that offer excellent training info. Here are some (click the link):

I'm sure our other members will add to this list. Good luck and remember to come back frequently and ASK QUESTIONS! ;)

use the 'search' feature of this website and type in 'training' all the topics with training advice should pop up. im sure there is good stuff there. if not just ask. one piece of advice though is start off easy ;) good luck

I second visiting Coach Carl's website. If your question's aren't answered there, then e-mail them to him. He responds pretty quickly.