Figuring out 2x20 wattage

Discussion in 'Power Training' started by gregkeller, Jan 20, 2006.

1. gregkeller

gregkeller New Member

I know this has been hashed out alot but i've searched and can't find an answer to my question. I am pretty new to the idea of 2x20's but think it's an idea to try. Is there a way i can determine what wattage to use if i've never done them before. My last interval workout was 3x5' with a 2 minute rest between and i averaged 328, 330, and 328 watts for them. I did it inside on a trainer and don't feel like i could have gone any harder (maybe if i was better rested). Should i just try different wattages? I don't want to have to do "trial and error" if it isn't needed. If it must be trial and error is there any ballpark figure someone could give me (285? 300?) Thanks for the help, and this time of the year about 2 months before my first race (cat 5) how many times a week should i be doing 2x20's? Thanks for the help.

Tags:

2. frenchyge

frenchyge New Member

Andy prescribes 20-min intervals as a 'level 4' intensity workout. Level 4 is from 91-105% of your 1-hr power, so it's really a pretty broad range. From the intervals you described, your 1-hr power would be in the ~300w ballpark, so level 4 is about a 45w range.

Regarding the trial-and-error approach, all you really need to do is hit somewhere in that 45w range, which should be easy to guess-timate. From there, tweak it based on the intensity you want, how many times per week you plan on doing it, and how rested you're feeling on any given day. I think 280w would be a decent starting guess, which might be slightly conservative to make sure you can complete the workout. Another approach would be to do the first one at 280w, and then go as hard as you want on the second one. Then take the average power of the 2 intervals as your target for next time.

3. Spunout

Spunout New Member