First mntn bike...k2 any good?

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Determined

Want to get my first mountain bike, and since I'm brand new to it, I figured I'd go in the
"affordable" range of $300 or less until I figure a little more out about equipment and how serious
I'm going to be. I've been looking at the k2 bikes, simply because I have k2 skis. Does anyone have
an opinion? Will a $300 bike last me a year or two before I need to upgrade? Is there a website I
should go to to do my own research?

thanks for your help!

determined

> I'd go in the "affordable" range of $300 or less until I figure a little more out about equipment
> and how serious I'm going to be.

I can't help you much with the k2 bikes. I don't think that you can get much with $300, but since
you ask - I'd recommend the Diamondback Response (it's right in your price bracket) or the slightly
more expensive Trek 4300.

Will a $300 bike last you? That all depends what kind of trails you're going to ride.

When you say upgrade, do you mean buy another bike? The cheaper bikes are not really worth
upgrading parts.

good luck.

J...D

In article <[email protected]>, [email protected] says...
> Want to get my first mountain bike, and since I'm brand new to it, I figured I'd go in the
> "affordable" range of $300 or less until I figure a little more out about equipment and how
> serious I'm going to be. I've been looking at the k2 bikes, simply because I have k2 skis. Does
> anyone have an opinion? Will a $300 bike last me a year or two before I need to upgrade? Is there
> a website I should go to to do my own research?
>
> thanks for your help!
>
> determined
>
>
>

I have a $200 bike that has so far lasted me 3 years @ about 1500 miles/year. take care of it and it
will last you a good long time.

Keep in mind that it most likely will not have "top" parts on it so they may not perform to
perfection. I ride mine fairly aggressive IMO, through mud and water, over rocks, and down some