First road bike - converting a CX bike into a road bike?

GlobeRunner

Apr 17, 2013
Okay, I'm a newbie cyclist raring to get going on the road (not new to sport though - running my first marathon this weekend) and I've been hunting around for my first road bike for about a month or so now.
I'm 19, 5'7" and around 118lbs, and initially I was looking at the Scott Contessa Speedster range with my eye on another Genesis bike - http://www.evanscycles.com/products/scott/contessa-speedster-45-2013-womens-road-bike-ec042477
http://www.evanscycles.com/products/genesis/volant-10-2013-road-bike-ec043737
My budget is £700 and the Scott is bang on the right price.
I went back to my LBS this morning with a more informed view about what to buy, and the guy I spoke to today was really helpful but suggested something a little out of the ordinary; a few weeks ago they had a customer who asked if they could order in the Moda Legato CX bike with some specific tweaking she asked for. The sale fell through and she bailed on them, leaving them with the deposit and a small framed bike (48/49 cm) with no owner.
http://www.evanscycles.com/products/moda/legato-2013-cyclocross-bike-ec044914
The Legato retails at £1500, but because they can't shift it, the guy is willing to let me have it for £700 (!!) with a pair of road bike tires and a bit of tweaking.
I'm still a little ignorant when it comes to comparing specs, but I'm reliably informed that the Legato is top notch, but I'm a bit wary of the 46/36 chainring. The shifters and the chainset are SRAM Apex and I think they do different ratios so I think there's the opportunity to change it.