first time buyer

thilly

Mar 8, 2012
ive been riding for a few years with some crappy SportChek bikes. this year i feel i should buy a more serious bike. i do 120 km rides mainly on the road, but i do want to try some dirt trails. from what ive read, i think should get a hybrid bicycle. something with shocks at the front fork, a light frame, and a comfortable handle bar and seat. im not quite sure how much i should spend. i was thinking about $1000 should get me an entry level bicycle for what i want to do. i live in Toronto and this shop http://www.dornellas.com/DOrnellasHome.asp seems to be a popular choice in my area, more specifically Scarborough.

any help is appreciated

Originally Posted by thilly .

a light frame, and a comfortable handle bar and seat. im not quite sure how much i should spend. i was thinking about $1000 should get me an entry level bicycle for what i want to do.
I want to know what do you plan to to buy a bike or DIY a bike

would it better to build a bike myself? or just buy a bike already built? id prefer to buy a bike already built.

would it better to build a bike myself? or just buy a bike already built? id prefer to buy a bike already built.

Unless you have a bin full of spare parts that are compatible with the bike you intend to build, or you can purchase parts at wholesale prices, and you already know a lot about bike mechanics, and you want a new hobby for few days or months, it always makes more sense to buy a new or lightly used complete bike. The manufacturers buy the parts for a lot less than you ever will.

yeah that makes sense. i just dont know what type of bike to buy. ive been recommended to buy a mountain bike, then just buy a pair of road tires when im goin mainly on the road then switch to dirt tires when i go on trails.