First time hill climb event

JunkyMan

Aug 1, 2016
Greetings,

I plan to take part in a hill climb event in September. The race is 28kms and climbs around 1000m.
I am new to cycling, only around 3 months. I ride a 2016 Giant TCR advanced 2. I usually ride over 100kms a week-my courses include many climbs but nothing too long. I have a chance to try out the route once before race day in two weeks time.

Being my first event I would love some advice.
-What kind of training will help me prepare? Hill repeats or go for distance?
-What should I take with me on my ride?
-What should i consider when trying out the course?
-What can I expect on race day?

Any other suggestion would be much appreciated!

Many thanks in advance,

JunkyMan

Hi, It seems like I find myself saying this a lot on these forums. "this is my take, but wait for a more seasoned member to give better advice. I seem to be decent at self training, but its no substitute for experience, not to mention, I've incorporated many of the tips given here into it. First, id like to say, congrats on your first race/event! Way to just dive in there after 3 months!So 17 miles and roughly 3,280 ft of climbing! Sounds pretty steep. If it were me preparing for this:

-Focus on 1-2 hour rides,4-5 days a week. You should pretty much live in the hills until event day. No sense in doing rides that are too long, Id say no rides longer than 65 km(roughly 40 miles).

-Do what I like to call "power climbs". Thats what I use to refer to short, but very steep hills. I have a bunch of short hills near me that really help build up my lungs and muscular endurance. They range in 400-500 ft and are 1-3 miles long. I climb them as fast as I can.They also makes shallower climbs a breeze. Your even is short and steep, focus on doing short and steep climbs. Variety will keep you motivated, but if not, hill repeats will do.