First time hybrid buyer

Discussion in 'Bike buying advice' started by m1kebeck, Jun 4, 2014.

1. m1kebeck

m1kebeck New Member

Im new to riding looking for a good hybrid bike mostly using on hilly roads and light trails and some long commutes. I have an amazon store credit card so I want to purchase on there and I know not all the brands are sold online. I was trying to decide between a few different diamondback bikes heres a few..
    diamondback 2014 Insight STI-8 Performance Hybrid Bike Diamondback 2014 Trace Comp Dual Sport Bike diamondback 2014 insight 2 hybrid bike Im not set on anything I just have been searching the diamondbacks because the other brands on amazon I have not heard of so any suggestions on something else would be great. I don't know much about them and would like some help to steer me in the right direction for a good reliable bike my price range is in the 5-600$ rang Thanks in advance!!

Tags:

2. oldbobcat

oldbobcat Well-Known Member

I'm more familiar with the derailleur equipped (3x7 speed) version of this bike, and I think that one's an excellent value.

8-speed internally geared hubs are expensive, so this one pushes envelope for a price-point bike. Before pulling the plug I suggest checking out some similar bikes at your local shops. Decide if the 8-speed hub is worth the extra $250 over a derailleur equipped bike, or if the money might be better spent on a lighter frame or not spent at all. Two lines of similar bikes are the Trek FX series and the Specialized Sirrus series. With derailleurs, the entry level to this bikes starts around $460.

And if you order online, factor in the cost of having the bike built by a local shop.

3. Owboduz

Owboduz New Member

Do be aware that the FX 7.0 and 7.1 both have freewheels, not freehubs, which limits your options, should you decide to replace the cassette. The FX 7.2 has an 8-speed freehub cassette, so you have more options should you want to change the cassette.