first time this year

Status
Not open for further replies.
E

Ed Highley

wow just got off my bike after a 5 mile ride. it was the first one this year,I wimped out this
winter because of snow and cold here in central Ohio. I know we've had some good weather recently
but Iam such a procrastinator. I started riding last year in Aug after buying a new bicycle. I want
to lose about 100-120 lbs. as Iam 5'10" and weigh about 330 lbs, up about 30 lbs that I gained over
the winter sitting on my glutes. I feel incredible, I know it was a short ride and that I only
avg.10.5 mph but I added in a couple of small hills that took the wind out of my sails, but do I
feel great. Im going to lose this weight and try to do some long rides this year. Thanks for
listening Ed

On Thu, 27 Mar 2003 17:08:07 GMT, "Ed Highley" <[email protected]> wrote:

>wow just got off my bike after a 5 mile ride. it was the first one this year,I wimped out this
>winter because of snow and cold here in central Ohio. I know we've had some good weather recently
>but Iam such a procrastinator. I started riding last year in Aug after buying a new bicycle. I want
>to lose about 100-120 lbs. as Iam 5'10" and weigh about 330 lbs, up about 30 lbs that I gained over
>the winter sitting on my glutes. I feel incredible, I know it was a short ride and that I only
>avg.10.5 mph but I added in a couple of small hills that took the wind out of my sails, but do I
>feel great. Im going to lose this weight and try to do some long rides this year. Thanks for
>listening Ed
>

It gets better rapidly. I got back into riding in 1997 when I bought my first new bike in 25 years.
The first time out I rode the local paved park route.

2 miles end-end. I stopped twice to get my breath. I still marvel at how out of shape I was. By the
end of the month, I was riding that route back & forth 3-4 times for a total of about 15 miles
without being the slightest bit winded. Nowadays, 15 miles is a warmup and 30-45 miles @ about