First Tri Questions.

Discussion in 'Triathlon' started by Rwh *-At-* Holo, Jun 1, 2003.

1. Hello everyone... I have been training for about 4 months for a 1/4 ironman. This will be my first
    real USAT triathlon. (I did a very miniature tri 10 years ago.) I feel comfortable in all three
    areas. However, I have a few questions that I would love your comments on.

1. What is your opinion on running in bicycle shorts? Should I keep them on after the bike portion,
    or remove them and put on running shorts over my speedo?

2. What tools do you carry with you on your bike for the race? I have in my pack a spare inner tube
    and CO2 cartridges, and a multi purpose tool (screwdrivers,allen wrenches, etc).

3. What suggestions do you have for my two transition periods?

4. Any good advice to keep in mind for race day, and during the race?

Thanks!!

Randall

Tags:

2. Topdog

Topdog Guest

"rwh *-at-* holobaugh *-dot-* net" <"rwh *-at-* holobaugh *-dot-* net"> wrote in message
    news:<[email protected]>...
    > Hello everyone... I have been training for about 4 months for a 1/4 ironman. This will be my first
    > real USAT triathlon. (I did a very miniature tri 10 years ago.) I feel comfortable in all three
    > areas. However, I have a few questions that I would love your comments on.
    >
    > 1. What is your opinion on running in bicycle shorts? Should I keep them on after the bike
    > portion, or remove them and put on running shorts over my speedo?

Toss the cycle shorts entirely. Pick up a pair of tri shorts. These are similar to cycle shorts, but
    with a thinner pad. These are great to run in AS WELL as swim in. While you can do as you suggest,
    the advantage here is that you save maybe a minute in the transitions, maybe more. You leave the
    same shorts on for the entire race. A 1/4 IM is relatively short, and the shorter the race, the more
    important transition speed is.