Fist fixed gear cog change

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Steve Braun

I'm pretty new to this fixed gear world and when it comes to things mechanical, I'm at a bit of a
loss. I need to swap out rear cogs. I've successfully removed the old cog. Its reinstallation of the
new one that I'm unclear about.

1)Should I use Loctite?

2) If so, which color?

3) I assume I would apply the Loctite to the threads of the hub, not those of the cog, correct?

4) Or. should I just grease the cog and hub threads and be on my way?

5) As I spin the new cog on to the hub it spins freely and then gets quite difficult to turn with
about 1/16th of an inch to go. Is this normal? (Its a new Dura-Ace cog going on to an old Suzue
track hub.)

6) And finally, am I correct to assume that the flange on the cog points in toward the center
of the hub?

Thanks for your help.

Steve Braun Tucson

-----= Posted via Newsfeeds.Com, Uncensored Usenet News =----- http://www.newsfeeds.com - The #1
Newsgroup Service in the World! -----== Over 80,000 Newsgroups - 16 Different Servers! =-----

"Steve Braun" <[email protected]> wrote:

> I'm pretty new to this fixed gear world and when it comes to things mechanical, I'm at a bit of a
> loss. I need to swap out rear cogs. I've successfully removed the old cog. Its reinstallation of
> the new one that I'm unclear about.
>
> 1)Should I use Loctite?

No, it's not necessary. I think a lock ring is a good idea, but if you don't use one, then make sure
the cog is gorilla-tight. Locktite isn't strong enough to resist backpedaling forces.

> 2) If so, which color?

Red bikes are the fastest. (That's a joke, son.)

> 3) I assume I would apply the Loctite to the threads of the hub, not those of the cog, correct?
>
> 4) Or. should I just grease the cog and hub threads and be on my way?

Bingo.

> 5) As I spin the new cog on to the hub it spins freely and then gets quite difficult to turn with