Fit or fat? What is your body fat percentage?

omer

Nov 4, 2004
In a recent article i read about body fat percentage, it was mentioned that cyclists have typical body fat percentage in the range of 5-10% of their body weight. It is also said that a body fat percentage below 3% is dangerous (both figures are for males)

I am curious about the distribution of body fat percentage figures among cyclists; what is your body fat percentage?

cheers,
Omer.

not too sure if my scale is accurate or not. I am 5' 11 and weigh about 162lbs but my scale tells me I am about 17.5% body fat. That means I have about 28llbs of fat on my body but I am rather skinny. Is it accurate or way off or somewhere in between.

5' 11". 144lbs and 3% bodyfat. Measured on both a Tanita scale and using calipers. My FTP is 280W.

Basically, I'm not too good at chasing on the flats or sprints, however, put me up a 5% climb and there are few that can hold on.

cjcanty said:
not too sure if my scale is accurate or not. I am 5' 11 and weigh about 162lbs but my scale tells me I am about 17.5% body fat. That means I have about 28llbs of fat on my body but I am rather skinny. Is it accurate or way off or somewhere in between.

Same here - 5' 11'', typically 72 - 74kg (161 lbs average). could certainly lose a few pounds of fat, but would struggle to drop more than about 12 lbs without looking like Skeletor's less fortunate-looking puny brother...

cjcanty said:
For a cyclist, with 5'11'' + 162lbs; 17.5% seems quite high for me, your scale should be way off.

Omer, thanks for the info. I was hoping that it was way off. Maybe I should buy calipers or something.

At 225 and ~10, hmm maybe 12%, I'm great on down hills! My friends call me plywood or wideload due to the great draft. I'm afraid I'll never see my HS grad weigth of 190 again.

cjcanty said:
Omer, thanks for the info. I was hoping that it was way off. Maybe I should buy calipers or something.