Fitness vs Stamina

johngroves

Nov 14, 2007
Newbie here!

I've been cycling for around a year now and started off with a cheap mountain bike. Modified the mountain bike by adding slicks and a bigger front cassette. The reason was to give me a better chance of keeping up with friends who have racers. After 6 months of dragging a heavy dual suspension mtb around 40+ mile road routes, I got a Peugeot Performance Road Bike. Going out now I can pedal to my hearts content but my lungs always seem to want to give up.

Is anyone else in a similar boat to me? Does anyone know of any good cardio-vascular exercises to help improve performance? I couldn't think of any other way other than cycling as much as I am.

Cheers,

John

johngroves said:
Newbie here!

I've been cycling for around a year now and started off with a cheap mountain bike. Modified the mountain bike by adding slicks and a bigger front cassette. The reason was to give me a better chance of keeping up with friends who have racers. After 6 months of dragging a heavy dual suspension mtb around 40+ mile road routes, I got a Peugeot Performance Road Bike. Going out now I can pedal to my hearts content but my lungs always seem to want to give up.

Is anyone else in a similar boat to me? Does anyone know of any good cardio-vascular exercises to help improve performance? I couldn't think of any other way other than cycling as much as I am.

Cheers,

John