Fitting a Road Bike

Jaguar27

Sep 19, 2003
I am new to this Game, so sorry for the Daft questions...but...

About 3 months ago, I bought a Felt Road Bike from Supergo, I'm about 5' 10" tall, I test rode and bought a 54cm, when I stand over the Bike I have less than an inch clearance between the Top Bar and my "best friends"...

Anyway, I've done about 300 miles on the Bike, and as I was riding today I got some grating from the Gears etc, so decided to take the Bike into my LBS, a Guy I really trust, he's an ex-pro and has been selling/repairing high-end Bike for 25 years...

Anyway, he's going to re-true the Wheels, re-set the Brakes, the durailleurs etc...a full tune-up...

But he says the Bike is too small for me...I should have bought a 56 :confused:

The Bike is VERY comfortable, I have the peddle circle sorted out, although he said he's going to move the Brakes further up the Bars so I can reach the Pods better etc...and re-wrap the Bar tape...

But am I correct in thinking the first thing that must fit on a Road Bike is the stand over height? I know I probably couldn't stand over a 56, but I did stand over a 56 Cannondale in his shop, but Felts come big, right?

can 2cm really make that much difference anyway?

Any help is appreciated, I intend to trade-up later this year and don't want to make the same mistake again :(

Originally posted by Jaguar27
I am new to this Game, so sorry for the Daft questions...but...

About 3 months ago, I bought a Felt Road Bike from Supergo, I'm about 5' 10" tall, I test rode and bought a 54cm, when I stand over the Bike I have less than an inch clearance between the Top Bar and my "best friends"...

Anyway, I've done about 300 miles on the Bike, and as I was riding today I got some grating from the Gears etc, so decided to take the Bike into my LBS, a Guy I really trust, he's an ex-pro and has been selling/repairing high-end Bike for 25 years...