Fixed gear/SS conversion for absolute beginner

djr48

Aug 15, 2010
As much as I enjoy riding bikes and cycling culture in general, I know little to nothing about bike mechanics. There is an old 1988 Murray road bike that has been wasting away in my grandparents garage. I thought I would strip it down and teach myself a thing or two about bicycle mechanics, and teach myself how to build a fixed gear/singlespeed (I don't know the difference). After spending all day looking around the internet, I'm still lost. And after searching through bundles of forums and articles, I've decided to raise a white flag and write a post of my own.

The only salvageable part of the bike is the frame and fork. Where and with what do I start? I know I want a flip flop hub (new terminology I learned to day) as I'm going to be riding up decent sized hills. What do I need as far as wheels, a bottom bracket, cranks, etc.? I truly know next to nothing about what I'm doing and going through all the stuff online is daunting. Any and all help/advice is very much appreciated. As a note, the part of the bottom bracket that the right-side crankarm screws into is stuck. Or rather, I can't unscrew that part (whatever it's proper name maybe) out of the bike frame.

I hope this post isn't too vague and makes sense.
Derek

I have been riding geared road and mountain bikes for years and know very little because I have a good friend who has all the tools needed and works on bikes as a side gig. He has recently started to taper his business and I am learning more everyday about bike mechanics. Separately but simultaneously, I have recently started riding a single speed that I converted myself which has been another opportunity to learn. Most of my help has come from reading various articles / blog posts and asking lots of questions at the local bike shop. In my area, there are two new bike shops that sell new and used bikes but mostly used, they have a community bench and helpful staff.