Flats, flats, and more flats --- incredibly frustrating

lblando

Sep 9, 2013
Hello, this is my first post here. I am not a cycling expert, and thus I am hoping you can help me figure out a solution to my problem.

First, some context. I recently bought a road bike, which I intend to use for two purposes: (1) commuting to work 3-5 times a week, and (2) weekend rides with friends. I don't plan on racing, or competing in any way. This is what I've ridden so far http://ridewithgps.com/users/190009. While not an expert, I do know how to ride a bike, and I like the idea of the freedom it brings you. I ride on the bike lanes, in San Jose (CA), as well as on paved biked paths. Nothing different, nothing unique, same as many of you I am sure, and yet....

Second, the problem. In a word, flats. I have been getting so many flats, so frequently, that it has seriously made me want to throw in the towel. In particular because I do commute to work and I have already had missed meetings, etc.

Third, details. Well, I *think* I am doing things right (e.g. changing the tubes with as much finesse as I can muster, checking pressure before every ride, making sure the tubes are up to 110psi at least, not riding too close to the curb, where the rocks/debris accumulates, "going light" on the rough patches to minimize the risk of pinches, etc). I even swapped the Hutchinson Equinox 23mm tires that came with my bike for 25mm Gatorskins in hopes that that would fix it. Such is the level of frustration I have reached that I even made an embarrassing YouTube video of me changing a tube to see if I am actually doing it right :) http://youtu.be/gyS_RuWQC2E

Fourth, the problem appears to be pinch flats/snake bite flats, as I have yet to encounter one nail/thorn/glass piece stuck in my tire. I have had tons of flats, as you can see here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/28276127@N04/sets/72157635449894885/ and all but one of them have been in the back tire.