Flight Deck or Cat Eye

pilgrimspro

Aug 2, 2004
I am a newbie, and I want to get a wireless computer, but I am can't make up my mind which one. I have searched and did not really come up with an answer.

I have Tiagra shifters so the flight deck would be nice, but the Cateye is a little cheaper, and "seems" to be more popular.

Any help would be appreciated.

pilgrimspro said:
I am a newbie, and I want to get a wireless computer, but I am can't make up my mind which one. I have searched and did not really come up with an answer.

I have Tiagra shifters so the flight deck would be nice, but the Cateye is a little cheaper, and "seems" to be more popular.

Any help would be appreciated.

Flight Deck! It provides lots of easy to read function results. Cadence is the the one that I could not do without. Shifter control is also real nice. Worth the price for me.

The major difference between the two is ease-of-use while riding and real cadence.

The Flight Deck is definitely the easiest to use and its integration with Shimano components make s for an easy and clean installation. The downside is that it only offers virtual cadence, which is not very useful for training.

The Cat-Eye, with real cadence, is good for training but the installation is slightly more complex and the unit is not nearly as easy to use on the road where you need to operate the buttons on the computer display to change modes.

I own both and they have both work flawlessly.

What Cateye?
I use the CD300DW double wireless and its great.
Have used the Flightdeck but got ****** off with having to manually turn it on each time I rode. At least with the Cateyes the wheel rotation will wake it up.

gruppo said:
The major difference between the two is ease-of-use while riding and real cadence.