Flogging a Dead Horse

charliechops

Oct 5, 2005
I know its been said before...but why oh why do roadies have to have all the attitude on the road.I doesn't hurt to say," goodmorning" or respond to a wave with a wave, instead of a don't look at me glare.Or, I got a better bike than you school yard bulls***.I have been riding both MTB and road Bikes for six years and can honestly say that full time roadies may need to take some MTB manners, as MTBers 99% of the time will always say a hello or respond.I not saying all roadies are bad or rude just 99% of them.

Sometimes it's hard to know when they nod, as opposed to just stare. Sometimes there is the breathless word, but you can't really hear that.

Still, I'm the first one to wave - and I'm MTB mounted

Whenever I wave just about everyone waves back. It seems to be people with no helmet and who don't look comfortable on the bike who don't wave back or acknowledge you.

Having said that cycling seems to be partly a loner activity. You can do a lot of riding by yourself. This may mean that it attracts more than its fair share of anti social types who just aren't that friendly.

Cheers

mogulhead said:
Whenever I wave just about everyone waves back. It seems to be people with no helmet and who don't look comfortable on the bike who don't wave back or acknowledge you.
Cheers
Maybe you guys live in a serious place? I have been amazed how most happily wave and say hello. (OK, so waving first helps...) Some of the walkers I see regularly on my commute to work are less friendly, but I find after a week or so they give in as well!

Conversely if you yell '******' you'll quite easily get a reply of 'F**k off'!!

Maybe if you want some kind of reply you should change your tactic... ;)

You are not from Brisbane I take it?