Folding bicycles

Discussion in 'Road Cycling' started by Peter Gardner, May 15, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I'm looking into getting a folding bicycle in the next few weeks. The most I can spend on it is $300
    (which is pushing it), and I'd prefer something in the $100 - $200 range. I'm a college student, and
    I think a folder would be useful for storing in dorms without indoor bike storage.

Specifically, I'm looking for 3-5 speed, internal gearing, with a generator inside the front
    hub, but I'm assuming I'd have to do some significant modifications to get that. I'd actually
    prefer to build the whole thing up from a frame, but I haven't found any folding frames for sale
    on the internet.

I do a lot of biking, to almost every class, about 45 minutes of recreational riding most days, into
    DC some weekends (an hour each way), occasionally I go home by bike instead of Metro (3 1/2 hours if
    I bike the whole way).

Any suggestions?

Peter

Tags:

2. Doug Huffman

Doug Huffman Guest

Re-evaluate your bottom line....

The figures you provided wouldn't even buy the components, that you mentioned, new and likely not
    used. A top end, very conventional Bike Friday is a couple of thousand US dollars when new.

Look and the SON dynamo hubs and Sturmey Archer geared hubs.

"Peter Gardner" <[email protected]> wrote in message
    news:[email protected]...
    > I'm looking into getting a folding bicycle in the next few weeks. The most I can spend on it is
    > $300 (which is pushing it), and I'd prefer something in the $100 - $200 range. I'm a college
    > student, and I think a folder would be useful for storing in dorms without indoor bike storage.
    >
    > Specifically, I'm looking for 3-5 speed, internal gearing, with a generator inside the front hub,
    > but I'm assuming I'd have to do some significant modifications to get that. I'd actually prefer to