Foot angle on pedal?

parawolf

Jan 16, 2006
Here is an interesting one for those 'technique' gurus to consider and i'd like to solicit any ideas about this.

My sporting background is one of athletics, typically sprints (100m,200m,400m) and high jump. I went through a fair amount of some semi-professional coaches that had some form of state/elite exposure to training techniques in these disiplines. All of this was about 10 - 12 years ago. I also play A-Grade social volleyball, its competitive, however hardly professional (no training, no guidance, etc) I have been playing this for 14 years.

Now I have turned to cycling as a commute to work, however I want to get better at it (my inner athlete I guess). I am begining to notice my foot technique when I really want to put some power down in a seated or standing angle goes into 'sprint' position with the toes heavily pointed, and extending the power stroke well past the 7 o'clock position. I find this quite natural but a little awkward for cycling. When cruising it is what I think is a far more traditional angle.

Is this something I should even bother 'training' for, eg should foot position change with hill climbs, down hill, flats, sprints, etc... or is it just a matter of whatever is comfortable for you.

My 'circle work' on the pedals in my opinion is quite good for a newbie, I can maintain 85+rpm on say 43:12 (approximately) while staying very smooth, and on a gym bike I can hit 90-95rpm for a short while (5 minutes) and still maintain my technique.

I'm focusing for endurance rides, but I want to get better at hill climbs, though my body mass is a little against me at 85kg (187lbs) and 6'3.

Any thoughts and comments would be good.

parawolf said:
Here is an interesting one for those 'technique' gurus to consider and i'd like to solicit any ideas about this.