formula for computing seat tube angle

robbielg

Mar 27, 2005
the formula i found in the bicycle sizing article here for computing top tube and seat tube lengths is great. However i cant seem to work the formula for the seat tube angle. Any engineers or math wizs here ?

"For the seat tube angle you first of all need to measure your thigh and lower leg lengths. Thigh length is measured horizontally from the upright support to the front of your kneecap, whilst the lower leg length is measured from the top of your kneecap vertically to the ground. Then calculate the seat tube angle as: Cosine of 26.4% (thigh length / lower leg length). The answer should be taken to the nearest 0.5 degree. "

heres my computation cos(.264)(59/52.5) = 0.9999

Admittedly, I'm a bit of a newb, but does it really matter that much? The effective seat tube angle can be changed by a few degrees with fore-aft of the seat anyway. If you were getting a custom frame, this may be more important, but will you have much say over a standard store-bought anyway? I'm not being argumenative--I really don't know, but I suspect it's not a big deal to worry about, plus the angle changes from road to time trial geometry generally, anyway!

Skoorb said:
Admittedly, I'm a bit of a newb, but does it really matter that much? The effective seat tube angle can be changed by a few degrees with fore-aft of the seat anyway. If you were getting a custom frame, this may be more important, but will you have much say over a standard store-bought anyway? I'm not being argumenative--I really don't know, but I suspect it's not a big deal to worry about, plus the angle changes from road to time trial geometry generally, anyway!
It isnt a big deal if you are comfortable on standard store bought roadbikes.
But ive never been really comfortable on my roadbikes like i am on my mountainbikes.

Sometimes the fore-aft seat adjustment will not be enough on roadbikes.