Frame Size

bjorgenson

Aug 3, 2003
I am 6' 4" and have a 36" inseam. I just bought a Trek 1000 (I'm a newbie) with a 58CM frame. Just wondering if this frame is a bit small. I upgraded my stock stem with a carbon fiber stem that gives an extra inch of height. When Ihold on to the bottom handle bars, my knees are about an inch from my elbows. Is this normal? I just road 20 miles today and it felt comfortable the whole way through.

My husband is 6'4", with a 37" inseam, and he rides a 58cm Look, so your probably ok, especially if your ride was comfortable. If your still worried, find a reputable coach or shop that specializes in fits. They should thouroughly measure nd manipulate yor position and compare it to BPM/watts exerted. Expensive, but well worth it.

Originally posted by bjorgenson
I am 6' 4" and have a 36" inseam. I just bought a Trek 1000 (I'm a newbie) with a 58CM frame. Just wondering if this frame is a bit small. I upgraded my stock stem with a carbon fiber stem that gives an extra inch of height. When Ihold on to the bottom handle bars, my knees are about an inch from my elbows. Is this normal? I just road 20 miles today and it felt comfortable the whole way through.

I'm 6'3" with a 36" inseam and depending on how the bike is measured, c-c or c-t, I take either a 58cm or a 61cm, respectfully. The bottom line is if you are comfortable after about 300 accumulated miles, you made the right choice.

It sounds as if the fit's about right for you since you say that 're comfortable. Longer rides (2 - 3 hours) will soon tell you if the bike is fitted incorrectly!

Now, I'm 6'3" with a 34" inseam and I ride a 61 cm Serotta frame.

Fit on the bike is a highly individual thing! Inseam is a good starting point for estimating frame size, but thigh length (either longer or shorter than "normal") affects the size you need, as does your overall flexibility, pedaling style and a number of other factors. I have relatively long thighs for my height.