frame welding advise

smootz

Sep 1, 2009
The idea of building a bicycle (particularly a recumbent) intrigues me. I own a small machine / fab shop so I should have all the equipment I need. In fact, my recent addiction to biking began while machining some small bike parts for a friend.

Most of the bike operations I read about involve "brazing" components. I am proficient with mig, tig, and oxy/act. welding. Is there an advantage of brazing vs. these other methods?

Is shrinkage, warping, or constriction a major concern when welding or brazing to a head tube or bottom bracket?

Thanks for any advise. I am just an old fart machinist looking for another hobby.

SCOTTIE

There is a frame builders forum somewhere out there in the internet tubes, but I can't remember where that is? Anybody remember where the frame builders forum is?

You might try googling such a thing.

alienator said:
There is a frame builders forum somewhere out there in the internet tubes, but I can't remember where that is? Anybody remember where the frame builders forum is?
UBI used to have a frame builder's forum ... there must be others.

smootz said:
The idea of building a bicycle (particularly a recumbent) intrigues me. I own a small machine / fab shop so I should have all the equipment I need. In fact, my recent addiction to biking began while machining some small bike parts for a friend.

Most of the bike operations I read about involve "brazing" components. I am proficient with mig, tig, and oxy/act. welding. Is there an advantage of brazing vs. these other methods?

Is shrinkage, warping, or constriction a major concern when welding or brazing to a head tube or bottom bracket?

Thanks for any advise. I am just an old fart machinist looking for another hobby.
MOST frames are welded, now.