freeplay in crank - easily fixable?

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by Tsp, Sep 5, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tsp

Tsp Guest

hi there, my 1 week old bike just developed some freeplay with the crank--it moves laterally about
    .5 to 1 CM. its not terrible but i can definately feel the clicking or the moving when i pedal.

im new to bicycle repair and maintenance so i dont know if its a common thing for a new bike to go
    out of "tune" during the intial ownership or if the bottom bracket is really screwed or something.

if its something simple i can probably try to adjust it myself but if something is indeed wrong then
    i am probably screwed.

fuji nevada 04 - 360 cycleworks in austin, tx

Tags:

2. S. Anderson

S. Anderson Guest

"tsp" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:[email protected]...
    > hi there, my 1 week old bike just developed some freeplay with the
    crank--it
    > moves laterally about .5 to 1 CM. its not terrible but i can definately feel the clicking or the
    > moving when i pedal.
    >
    > im new to bicycle repair and maintenance so i dont know if its a common thing for a new bike to go
    > out of "tune" during the intial ownership or if the bottom bracket is really screwed or something.
    >
    > if its something simple i can probably try to adjust it myself but if something is indeed wrong
    > then i am probably screwed.
    >
    >
    >
    > fuji nevada 04 - 360 cycleworks in austin, tx
    >
    >

If it's ticking, you definitely need to get it checked out immediately. It's possible one of the BB
    cups is loose and if you ride it much this way you can mush the threads in the BB shell. It's an
    easy job for a shop so just take it back where you bought it and they will (should) gladly fix it
    free of charge and apologize for the sloppy (lack of) assembly (Peter?!?!?).

Cheers,

Scott..