Front brake adjusted itself?!

r-sparks

Apr 10, 2007
If you answer this query, you will stop me going mad. I'm a relative newbie cyclist, although cycled throughout my teens and also at university.

I was out cycling today and, half way through, found that my front brakes had started rubbing, thus bringing me to a premature stop.

I know little about bike maintenance, I'm afraid, but after some investigation I discovered that the "reach adjustment" screw in the handle had screwed down, so that the handle was constantly engaged (and therefore the brake was always on). See here to see what I'm referring to.

Thing is, how ON EARTH did it manage to screw down on its own? And not just a bit, but a lot! It actually can't screw any further down.

Lacking a screwdriver, but equipped with an allan key/wrench, I was able to adjust the brakes to loosen them up, and completed the ride with the brake maladjusted. I'm fixing it tonight, by simply screwing back (or removing!) the adjuster. Incidentally, it appears the back brake handle is missing its adjuster.

But please tell me what happened here. I'm starting to think the hand of God was involved.

r-sparks said:
......But please tell me what happened here. I'm starting to think the hand of God was involved.