Front Disc Brake

mjperk

Mar 26, 2013
I recently just purchased a cheap Schwinn Varsity 1200 700C bike as a starter to get into cycling. It also just so happens that I am a mechanical engineer and like to tinker a little too much. I've been doing some reading and it seems like a generally tough thing to change a bike over to disc brakes. That being said, I am also stubborn and need a project :)

I'm just going to do the front brake and am trying to figure out what kind of fork I'll need to find (with tabs) so that I can install the components. From the reading I've done, it seems that Schwinn bikes use uncommon threads or something was different about the headset? I'm not sure and am getting confused.

So my task at hand right now is to find a replacement fork, if possible, that will have tabs for mounting disc calipers on. Can anybody help me with EXACTLY what all specs I need to look for as far as threads (if any), sizes, spacings, etc. of what would essentially be a drop in replacement fork, only with tabs?

I really appreciate all the help I can get!

Schwinn bikes may have used DIFFERENT THREADS at one time, but it could be suggested that it was the other companies which used different threads than Schwinn used ...

Those days are probably in the distant past.

YOUR concern is whether the current front fork has a 1" OD steerer or a 1 1/8" OD steerer ...

If the bike's fork has a 1 1/8" OD steerer, then you just have to buy any fork which has disc tabs which has a 1 1/8" steerer ...

• a RIGID MTB fork for 26" wheels will be your best bet, IMO, to limit the change in the elevation of the head tube from what it is now ...
  • that is, a fork with disc brake tabs which is designed for 700c wheels will probably have a greater dropout to shoulder distance.

There are SOME threaded 1 1/8" forks floating out there ... avoid them & ensure that the fork you get uses a threadless headset & stem.