Front gears won't change (Shimano Sora)

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by redwingsfan, Jul 28, 2009.

1. redwingsfan

redwingsfan New Member

Thanks for any help!

I am new to biking, so forgive me not using proper lingo. I've had my road bike for several months, and suddenly, the front gears won't change. It's currently stuck on the large ring (or is called a cog?). My rear gear system is working fine.

I don't know if this matters, but I did notice one difference between the two gear systems. The metal wires from the gears to the dereauliers are at different tensions. The wires are located underneath the bottom of the body of the bike. The rear gear system is working fine and does not have a lot of tension. The front, however, is very taut. Is this my problem?

I'm determined to learn this myself! Any help will be greatly appreciated, even if it proves to be fruitless. I'll consider it a learning opportunity.

Thanks!

Tags:

2. alfeng

alfeng Well-Known Member

The cable may seem overly taut when the chain is on the larger/outer chainring compared to when the chain is on the small(est) chainring.

If you cannot shift down to the smaller chainring by pressing the OTHER 'lever', then if you bought the bike "new" from a shop within the past 12 months, bring it in & have them get a warranty replacement.

3. kdelong

kdelong Well-Known Member