Front wheel question

• Thread starter Penasquitos Joe
  • Start date

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

Penasquitos Joe

While riding recently the skewer on the front wheel jumped ship. (I don't know what happened but all
of a sudden the bike got hard to pedal and when I took a look, the skewer was GONE!) Since I wanted
a mechanic's opinion on the condition of the wheel I took it in and had him replace the skewer and
repack the hub. So here's the question. I put the wheel back on and noticed play and noise like the
bearings were grinding. I tried to adjust it but the dust cover doesn't stay in place, thus exposing
the innards. So what's the proper adjustment on the front wheel? I think I need a diagram to verify
that everything is put back correctly but haven't found anything on the web yet. Can anyone suggest
and sites that might help with repairs. Thanks, all. I'm a newbie and trying to get started in this.
I appreciate the input.

Penasquitos Joe <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
> While riding recently the skewer on the front wheel jumped ship. (I don't know what happened but
> all of a sudden the bike got hard to pedal and when
I
> took a look, the skewer was GONE!) Since I wanted a mechanic's opinion on the condition of the
> wheel I took it in and had him replace the skewer and repack the hub. So here's the question. I
> put the wheel back on and noticed play and noise like the bearings were grinding. I tried to
> adjust it but the dust cover doesn't stay in place, thus exposing the innards.
So
> what's the proper adjustment on the front wheel? I think I need a diagram to verify that
> everything is put back correctly but haven't found anything on the web yet. Can anyone suggest and
> sites that might help with
repairs.
> Thanks, all. I'm a newbie and trying to get started in this. I
appreciate
> the input.

Check out Sheldon Brown's site - haven't got the URL handy, but a Google search should turn it up