Front wheel torquing out, hitting brakes

bcpayne

Aug 6, 2004
So I have the same frame and fork that I have been using for about 9 years (Litespeed Catalyst with Kestral EMS fork). I just put my third set of wheels on it about a month ago (Mavic CXP33, Chris King Hubs, 3x Revolution spokes). Yesterday for the first time, I experienced the wheel flexing to hit the brake pads when I was out of the saddle and put some effort in to the pedal stroke! This has never happened before and I can't figure out why?!?!

I'm a big rider (~205lbs), but until yesterday I've never had a problem with anything flexing enough to rub on the brakes. And it's not like the brakes are set at a tight tolerance. The wheels are true, since they're only a few weeks old and have about 300 miles on them. Everything else is the same as it's always been, and I can't figure out why this is happening now.

It's not like the wheelset is weak or anything, and when spinning along, there are no problems. Yesterday's ride was flat, and I noticed the rubbing just excellerating from stop signs. A couple weeks ago I was in the hills, doing a lot of standing climbing, and never heard a peep.

If you have any ideas, please share your thoughts. Thanks!

Spokes. Check those. I bet every single one could be tighted evenly another 1/4 turn. What do you think?

bcpayne said:
So I have the same frame and fork that I have been using for about 9 years (Litespeed Catalyst with Kestral EMS fork). I just put my third set of wheels on it about a month ago (Mavic CXP33, Chris King Hubs, 3x Revolution spokes). Yesterday for the first time, I experienced the wheel flexing to hit the brake pads when I was out of the saddle and put some effort in to the pedal stroke! This has never happened before and I can't figure out why?!?!